Board of Directors

The Board of the Company comprises eight independent, non-executive directors whose role is to govern the Company in the interests of shareholders and other stakeholders.

In particular the Board is responsible for managing the business affairs of the Company in accordance with its Articles of Association and the Investment Policy and has overall responsibility for the Company’s activities, including investment and capital raising activities, monitoring the performance of the portfolio and reviewing and supervising key service providers including the Investment Manager.

In response to The AIC Code of Corporate Governance, the UK Corporate Governance Code and AIFMD legislation, the Board has established the following committees:

  • Audit Committee;
  • Management Engagement Committee;
  • Nomination Committee;
  • Remuneration Committee;
  • Risk Committee; and
  • Market Disclosure Committee.

The purpose, stakeholders, roles and responsibilities of the Board and each of its committees are set out in the applicable set of Terms of Reference found within Corporate Documents.

A list of the Directors' other public company directorships is set out in the Company's Annual Report and Accounts, or is available from the Company's Secretary on request.

Simon Holden


Ian Russell, CBE

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Sally-Ann Farnon

Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee

Frank Nelson

Senior Independent Director

Kenneth D. Reid


Mike Bane


Frances Davies


Rita Akushie